Skip to content

Family Day: Model Railway

August 4, 2010

As I was ‘shoot-free’ this weekend I was able to enjoy a Saturday with my own family. This mainly revolved around lunch at my parents house (thanks Mum for a lovely lunch despite you forgetting that I haven’t eaten beef since I was 10!).

In the afternoon we visited friends of theirs in Chelsfield, Kent. Philip and Jayne have a model railway in their back garden (Hollybeech Railway) and every year, over the Summer months, they have Charity days; opening it up to the public to raise money for their chosen charity. This year it was for the The Stroke Association.

Photography at Model Railway in Chesfield

Now a model railway might sound a bit geeky but I absolutely love it! I’m not interested in having my own trains but I love to see the passion, hardwork and detail that people put into this hobby. Hollybeech have 3 separate tracks (called ‘Lines’ apparently) so, as you can imagine, it’s a pretty big garden; full of tunnels, bridges and little people. Some of the trains make authentic noises and some create steam – cooool! *Trying not to sound too geeky!*

Naturally I took my camera along, so I thought I would share some of my piccies with you (I also wanted to make use of my newly purchased 50mm lens – how did that geeky comment get in there?!). Sadly we couldn’t stay much more than an hour due to other social commitments, but I was happy with the few pictures I was able to get without getting in the way of all the kids (big and small)! It’s surprising how quickly these trains travel but I like a challenge!

Photography at Model Railway in Chesfield

Photography at Model Railway in Chesfield

Photography at Model Railway in Chesfield

Photography at Model Railway in Chesfield

Photography at Model Railway in Chesfield Photography at Model Railway in Chesfield

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

