Skip to content

Woodland Dress & Drama

January 29, 2011

On Friday this week, Kat and I headed to Scadbury Park, Kent for Louise’s Dress & Drama shoot. To say it was cold wouldn’t be the whole truth; it was freezing! (well, 5 degrees I’ve been told!). Poor Louise was almost blue at times but she stuck it out for the whole 3 hours, although this included some hot water bottle cuddling time and hot coffee drinking. 🙂

Woodland Fashion Photography

Our Dress & Drama package differs from our Fashion Fiction package due to the amount of preparation that Kat and I put into creating a more personalised shoot. Louise filled in our comprehensive question (almost with essay answers) so we were able to understand the kind of location, styling and feel of pictures that she wanted. Only she can say if we achieved that or not!

Dress & Drama Preparation

Dress & Drama Preparation: mood boards

Woodland Fashion Photography

Louise wanted to wear a dress that she didn’t only love but held memories for her. In this case it was the dress she wore six years ago to her A-Level ball!

Woodland Fashion Photography

The cold weather was a learning curve in itself. It affected every aspect of the shoot…

The makeup became almost solid. This resolved by a lot of rubbing between the hands and laying it on the hot water bottle. The small space in the back of the car also wasn’t ideal for Kat (she has a LOT of kit!)

Woodland Fashion Photography

The quickness in which my blue fingers were able to change lenses etc  Most of my kit is plastic with harsh edges or cold metal. My finger tips were red raw and sore the next day! This actually slowed the shoot down more than I would have liked, so the smoke pellets weren’t used, nor was most of the jewellery which had been kindly donated by Bridal Designs Wedding Jewellery (related blogs to follow in a few weeks).

Woodland Fashion Photography

Bracelet by Bridal Designs Wedding Jewellery

I think it’s taken us all about 24 hours to defrost but we all had a lot of fun and that’s the main thing. Thank you to Louise for being such a great sport and braving the elements.

Woodland Fashion Photography

Keep an eye out on the website for the web album of this shoot (it’s always announced on Facebook, so why not join us over there :-))

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise permalink
    January 31, 2011 12:32 pm

    Wow, its so exciting to see how these shots came out. They’re so atmospheric and spooky, I love it! My fav so far is number 2- great job on the make-up and it really looks like moon light in the background! Well done Nikki for another topnotch example of fabulous photography.

  2. Scruff permalink
    February 1, 2011 10:15 pm

    I really like these photos, great work with the wide aperture and the darkness. Getting a sense of ‘Twilight’ vampire type thing going on, not sure if that’s intentional. In particular number 3 and 5 are good. Black and White is always a winner and the third one is good as there’s a nice lens flare just to the side of her head, and the “looking through the trees/vines” blurry near field effect adds to the spookiness.

  3. February 1, 2011 11:14 pm

    Hi Scruff (!?)
    Thanks for the great feedback on the pics. Louise had mentioned Twilight in her questionnaire actually (you can see some Twilight pictures on the RHS page of the mood board), so I am glad this has come across in the photographs. I’m not familiar with Twilight as I’m a True Blood fan so tended to find myself swaying more to the blue hues of the recent True Blood promo posters.

    This is the first time that I’ve used lens flare creatively and I did get a bit carried away to the latter part of the shoot. I loved the way this contrasted with the darkness around her though.

    I really like B&W photography, as you will see on this blog. I often find myself converting photos to monochrome and being torn between both versions. A recent photographer told me that monochrome was ‘cheating’ (I’m sure he was jesting with me to some extent) but I think it creates a whole different mood. Colour can sometimes be distracting. Monochrome can make you simply concentrate on the content/subject itself. Well, that’s my outlook on it anyway 🙂

    Thanks for visiting and the great comments. It’s really useful to know what other people like 🙂

Leave a Reply

