Skip to content

Merry Christmas (Christmas Tree)

December 10, 2011

Thank you to all my clients that I have had the pleasure to photograph this year. I’ve shared many giggles and witnessed some touching moments, both of which make my job an absolute joy to carry out.

I look forward to seeing some of you again in 2012.

 

This year’s Christmas Card…

With camera on tripod, cotton tied to mini-Maglite and myself standing precariously on a chair, I took several photographs (using the self timer) while I attempted to create a spiral of light. Not only did it take numerous attempts to work out how to achieve this motion with the torch itself; it took several more attempts to: 1) capture it correctly on camera and 2) make it take on the shape of a Christmas tree which was my objective (I’m hoping that part is obvious!)
With many tens of photographs captured on a CF card, I sat in front of my PC. Various effects were experimented with…

Nikki Waterlow Photography at Christmas

Christmas Tree Project: Breakdown of First Attempt

Firstly I began choosing those pics that had the correct sort of shape to them and had the entire motion caught in the frame. I experimented with colours and overlaid the final images. This was my first attempt. It felt a bit messy and not entirely tree like!

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Merry Christmas

Tree Photo Project: First Attempt!

My final result was going to remain in green (to make it look more like a tree) but I didn’t find it as colourful as I had originally imagined. So, choosing simply three images and three Christmas colours, the final shot was created.
Pic – 3 green trees – Breakdown of final attempt

Nikki Waterlow Photography

Breakdown of Final Attempt!

I wish everyone a very Merry Christmas and a Happy, Healthy 2012.

Merry Christmas from Nikki Waterlow Photography

Merry Christmas from Nikki Waterlow Photography

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

