Skip to content

A great start to 2012: Lego story continues…

January 5, 2012

Well, I hope that this is the start of good things to come….

I am over the moon to have my recent St Lucia Lego photos published in a magazine. I know it’s only ‘Letter of the Month’ but it’s still very exciting. I mean, I win something 😀

'Photo Professional' Magazine

'Photo Professional' Magazine

It’s certainly spurred me on to make time for the hobby side of my photography – it can’t all be work, work, work (as much as I enjoy it).

I had so much fun taking these photographs but it has become a bit of an unhealthy addiction. These minifigures are multiplying in my handbag, travelling everywhere with me, so I’m constantly on the look out for the best photo situation for them. It causes great amusement (and equal annoyance) for my friends if nothing else 🙂

I thought I would take this opportunity to share some of the behind-the-scenes photographs….

Nikki Waterlow Photography

My St Lucia Studio!

You can just about make out the seaweed and coconuts used!

Nikki Waterlow Photography

Lonely Cara the Cavegirl - she looks a little lost and scared while I look for more props!

I had to work really low to the ground which required lying flat on the sand. You can see that it was quite gusty at times so, smeared in sun cream, I got covered in sand and I was very conscious of the sand so close to my compact camera!

Nikki Waterlow Photography

Dressing the Set

Photo Professional Magazine

Time for some reading!

You can check out more of these photographs on my Flickr photostream.

If you can’t read the magazine letter above then grab yourself a copy!

Or read below…

I am not sure what is more geeky; taking my photography magazine on holiday or taking my Lego to play with (at the age of..cough…thirtysomething!).
I had great fun with both, in St Lucia, but the latter probably got the most attention from staff and hotel guests. It’s not easy trying to explain to St Lucian’s exactly what you’re doing with the Lego and a compact camera!
My boyfriend took many ‘behind the scene’ shots as he found it hysterical watching me ‘dress the set’ and get into funny positions while dressed only in my bikini! (not my usual choice of outfit for photography work!)

I’m pleased with the results but absolutely gutted that I left my reading material on the plane – a magazine that will become well travelled. I had hardly read any of it as it was being hogged by my other half! Plus I remembered too late that it included a great discount code for the upcoming SWPP convention seminars. What other fab offers, articles and advice did I miss out on? As a loyal subscriber, please could you send me another copy or do I have to get on another plane in a bid to find my last copy? I’m not sure what I am sadder about; coming home from St Lucia to cold London, or losing my favourite magazine 😦

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 3:36 pm

    Just read your letter in the magazine and decided to look for more of your lego pictures 🙂 Sounds like it was an extra fun vacation 🙂

    • March 20, 2012 5:13 pm

      Charlie, Thanks for stopping by and saying hello. You can find more Lego pictures on my flickr page. I have a few more to upload. Its a slow but ongoing project 🙂
      (My maiden name is McDonald!!)

Leave a Reply

