Skip to content

I’ve been spending again!

February 17, 2012

In January I once again attending the SWPP Photography Convention in Hammersmith. I met up with some old friends, made some new ones and was dazzled by all the buttons on shiny new kit!

After much walking round the various stands and watching interesting seminars, I gave in and bought a set of Phottix flash triggers! DOH!

Nikki Waterlow Photography, Phottix Flash Triggers

In all fairness, I have been meaning to buy some of these since Louise’s shoot last year. Flash triggers allow you to use flash guns off the camera, without cables and without line of sight (Canon speedlights can ‘communicate’ to each other via infrared but these flash triggers use radio frequency instead).

I had only really been looking at the PocketWizard system but at the convention I was introduced to the Phottix Odin range. After about an hour googling them on the net (courtesy of computers in the hotel lobby!) it was clear that, because these were second generation of TTL flash triggers, they had more features than the PocketWizards and that a lot of people actually preferred them. Plus they were a lot cheaper! 🙂

Nikki Waterlow Photography, Phottix Flash Triggers

I got a great deal on them too. Park Cameras were selling the Transmitter and Receiver pack for £349 and throwing in an additional Receiver for FREE (usually another £135). I also managed to haggle with them and get an additional tenner off 🙂 (every little helps – That tenner bought a round in the pub afterwards!)

Nikki Waterlow Photography, Phottix Flash Triggers

Nikki Waterlow Photography, Phottix Flash Triggers

I’ve already started using them on a couple of studio shoots and I’m really pleased with, although I still have a few features that I need to master! No more kit purchasing for a while now! Although, having a third receiver would be nice 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

