Skip to content

Facebook Changes to Timeline

April 16, 2012

Sadly the time has caught up with me and my Facebook business page has now been converted to the new Timeline. (I’m still holding back on my personal profile page!).
I think the only thing I like about the new timeline design is obviously the cover photo at the top of the page. This is great for businesses that are all about the visual; photographers, designers, animators, artists etc.
I’ll be honest, design in this sense isn’t always my strongest skill. I often struggle to get started on new designs for promotional flyers, product brochures etc. Once I do get started, they take me a long time to complete and I’m forever asking ‘is it good enough?’, ‘does it send the right message?’, does it showcase my work while still providing clear information?’. If only I could find a design student who would like the chance to build their portfolio (know of anyone?? 🙂 )

Once again I was determined to make a good job of designing my timeline cover photos.
If you haven’t seen them already on our Facebook page, here are a couple of my attempts:

Nikki Waterlow Photography on Facebook

Design 1

Nikki Waterlow Photography on Facebook

Design 2

Nikki Waterlow Photography on Facebook

Design 3

Having exhausted my creativity on this item, I scoured the internet for inspiration and found many FREE templates.
Here are my adaptations of those:

Nikki Waterlow Photography

Design 4: Created using template by http://lovershorizon.deviantart.com

Design 5: Created using template by http://smashbit.com

 

Let me know what you think. I’ve set up a little poll (just for fun) so you can choose your favourite.


If you haven’t already, why not stop by our facebook page and click on the ‘like’ button. You’ll be kept in the loop about special offers as we don’t always post them on the blog or the website. Hope to see you there 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    April 25, 2012 8:04 pm

    They look really great and its obvious you’ve put a lot of effort in. I think design 5 looks the cleanest and the nicest layout while showing everything you do.

  2. April 27, 2012 12:59 pm

    Thanks Emily and thank you to everyone else that voted. Funny that the very first one I designed (top one) is one of the most popular. However, it looks like everyone thinks the same as Emily, as number 5 easily beat the others 🙂

    I’ve been studying the facebook guidelines even more in the last two weeks and you aren’t even allowed contact details on the cover photo, so it’s a good job that not a single person voted for design 4!

    I have to tweak the other designs now in terms of contact details but I will alternate my cover photo between 1 and 5 🙂

    Thanks everyone.

Leave a Reply

