Skip to content

Lumix in Budapest

June 13, 2012

With all this rain recently, I’m finding it hard to believe that I was actually enjoying some 30 degree sunshine recently!!

Every year I enjoy a city break with one of my best friends, Kerry. This year it was Budapest.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kent Photographer

Fisherman’s Bastion

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kent Photographer

After reading my blog, Kerry bought the same Lumix compact as me, so we went armed; determined to push these little pieces of kit to the limit and get the most out of them.

Once again, I was impressed with its performance. We were inside some stunning locations where flash was not permitted. Using low ISO’s for best quality (the noise levels aren’t very good at 400 and above) and long shutter speeds we were able to capture the beautiful interiors of the impressive buildings that Budapest has to offer; from the Parliament building to the Opera House.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kent Photographer

Inside the Cathedral, Opera House and Synagogue

I taught Kerry the basics of photography, covering everything from composition to spot metering and by the end of our 4 day break, we had become experts in tripod improvisation 🙂

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kent Photographer

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kent Photographer

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kent Photographer

Budapest Metro

Once again the Lego made an appearance! It gets a variety of reactions from onlookers, especially in a crowded tourist spots. 🙂

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kent Photographer

Bandit takes on Parliament. Liberty with Budapest’s Statue of Liberty. Spot the Alien!

I really liked Budapest. It’s a place that is rich in old and new architecture, so is extremely photogenic. It’s also a very green city with plenty of parks to escape to and big open squares to chill out with a drink. I wonder where we’ll end up next year… 🙂

Have you been to Budapest? What were your favourite parts?

Leave some comments below 😉

Don’t forget that you can always see more photographs on my Flickr Page

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2012 6:22 pm

    Nice vision.

    • June 14, 2012 8:51 am

      Thanks Michel. I do have times on holiday when I switch off from using my camera. I don’t want to see the place through a lens the whoel time. However, sometimes something can be so beautiful and inspiring that I end up ONLY seeing it through a lens…from every angle imaginable! 🙂 At least I end up with plenty of photographs. I could almost rebuild a 3D version from photographs at home!

Leave a Reply

