Skip to content

If you want a stable friendship, get a horse!

July 2, 2012

If you follow my page on Facebook then you may already know that I was looking to get more experience under my belt in photographing people’s pets. I was expecting to start with something small and sedate. My friend, Nicola, had other plans and even though she owns pretty much a whole pet shop, she invited me to photograph her horses!

Although I have had the occasional experience of being on top of a horse (Center Parcs and a Cuban beach spring to mind. Blackpool donkey doesn’t really count!), I’ve always been a little bit apprehensive about them. I mean, they’re BIG creatures right??

So Nicola started me off with someone I could cope with. Bluey is small enough to stick in the back seat of my car, and I have a little car! He is an old rescue pony and the most adorable little thing. I still don’t think these photographs do him justice but it was a good starting point for me 🙂

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Photography

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Photography

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Photography

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Photography

I’m becoming an obsessive cropper. This isn’t a riding term! I mean that I love details. If you are familiar with my blog, then you must have noticed how much I love macro photography and isolating the details of my subjects ; baby’s toes, hands and most of all, eyes. Well, this shoot was no different. I was more at home exploring the details of a tethered horse, than I was capturing the roaming ones in the field. They’re BIG creatures! Did I mention that? When you’re in an open field with them..well, they’re BIG!

So, on this initial shoot, I decided to walk and not ‘canter’. Running horses in an open meadow will come another day. I hope.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Photography

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Photography

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Photography

Almost ballet dancers pose??

I’ve uploaded some other photographs into a Facebook album. The entire selection from the shoot can be found in our online galleries for the next six months.
Let me know what you think of them, either below or via our Facebook page. I’d love to know your thoughts on pet photography in general. 🙂

Thanks for looking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

