Skip to content

Kate’s Children’s Portraits

September 11, 2012

I have visited Kate and her gorgeous daughter once before for a portrait session. This time I visited them at Kate’s beautiful home in Bexley and there was not only an additional daughter but also Kate’s nephew to photograph.

The idea behind the shoot was to get some fantastic photographs of the kids at this current age and also put together some photographs for Kate’s mum of all her grandkids.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

I had such a blast at this shoot. Kate’s eldest daughter came out with such great comments; “you will need a lot of patience today” and “this photo shoot hasn’t gone very well, has it?” which really made me laugh! Obviously I not only show my personal favourite photographs in these sneak peek blogs but also the best ones from the day. After this little girl’s comment, I couldn’t help but show the chaos that often evolves through photographing 3 young kids and why some people (even kids) might feel that a shoot hasn’t gone to plan!

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Photos like this is why I love the editing part as much as the taking photographs! I’m constantly laughing 😀

It’s certainly easier to photograph each fast-moving child on their own as opposed to all three!

I love this age. They are much more open to suggestion in terms of posing 🙂

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Although this little man does pretty well at posing too, just enticing the smile out of him was a challenge!

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Most of my photography style revolves around high contrast, saturated, punchy images but Kate’s house is so elegantly styled with a vintage, muted theme throughout that I wanted to produce some artwork that would compliment the surroundings that it would potentially be displayed in.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Kid's Portraits

A big THANK YOU to Kate and the kids for inviting me back and providing me with many hours of giggles.

Let me know what you think by leaving a message for me or Kate in the comments below. Keep your eyes peeled over the coming weeks for the full online proofing gallery.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicola Degen permalink
    September 11, 2012 8:17 pm

    Beautiful photo’s helped by beautiful kids

  2. Kirsty watts permalink
    September 11, 2012 8:50 pm

    Wow!! Amazing photos of them all, loving Poppys comments of how she thought the shoot went!! Very funny. Beautiful photos & beautiful children. Love your pics nikki 🙂

  3. Rob McDonald permalink
    September 12, 2012 9:03 pm

    Love the photographs and beautiful children, I particularly like the close ups. I presume that some of the wallpaper design behind would be removed in the final photographs ?

    • September 12, 2012 10:23 pm

      I’m a big lover of closeups as you can probably tell, if you’re a regular reader. I loved the edits I did on these and think they would work great as large canvas prints for the wall.
      I like to include the environment that the shoot took place in but the bird wallpaper wasn’t always ideal when I end up with a bird growing out of a child’s head 😀 In that instance, I would remove birds from the final edits! 🙂

Leave a Reply

