Skip to content

Working like a dog: Suzy’s Sneak Peek

November 9, 2012

I am so excited to be able to share this with you now that Suzy’s secret is finally out among her family and friends! After seeing her friend’s horse photographs, Suzy contacted me about photographing her dogs. I have photographed dogs before but only as part of a family session, never an entire shoot. It was HARD work. I’m still undecided as to which is harder to work with; toddlers, dogs or bunnies! They all move just as fast but I guess dogs, when off the leash, can cover the most ground! 🙂

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraits

I can’t stress how much fun I had with these dogs though. They are adorable and amazingly well-trained, which made my job only slightly easier; You still can’t get a trained dog to do EVERYTHING you want!

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraits

Smile for the camera!

Although Suzy originally talked about having ‘traditional’ style of portraits, I wanted to create something for her that was going to end up being a piece of artwork for her wall as opposed to a cheesy portrait of her furry friends. Hopefully I achieved that balance for her.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraits

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraits

I’m still floating on cloud nine after the wonderful email I received from her a few days ago, after seeing her photographs for the first time….

“Nikki they are just beautiful. Sacked off the portrait idea the photos in black and white will be so much better… So so chuffed I finally have amazing pics that truly reflect my handsome but oh so ‘un-photogenic’ Ollie!! The ones of Layla made me cry she is too cute!!”

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraits

Suzy’s online gallery is now live and will remain online for the next 3 months, so be sure to check it out and don’t forget to STAR YOUR FAVOURITES!

Let me know what you think about my first dog shoot, by leaving some feedback below. Thanks 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzy permalink
    November 9, 2012 11:00 pm

    Love this nikki. Especially the combination of pics of ollie, he is so handsome but never had a decent photo of him…finally we have pics to treasure forever.
    Your patience with the dogs and persistence on the day (as well as your dedication to getting the right shot laying in the wet and mud!!) amazed me and I would recommend you to anyone.
    xxxxx

  2. Kerry Aldridge permalink
    November 10, 2012 7:44 am

    All the photos of suzys dogs are amazing – hat of to you Nikki. What is it they say never work with children or animals… I can understand your comment that it was hard work as my dogs would be off into the distance if they were off lead. Really lovely set of photos for Suzy to treasure.

Leave a Reply

