Skip to content

A Man’s Best Friend…or a Girl’s! (Nicola’s Dog Portrait Sneak Peek)

January 3, 2013

Yay! I can at last share this fantastic Dog Portrait session with you now that Christmas has past!

Last year I photographed Nicola’s gorgeous horses at the stables that she frequents. Thankfully she loved my style of photography and the idea that I didn’t always capture a traditional portrait. For Christmas she wanted to give photographs to her family of their much loved furry family members. So, along with her friend Suzy, she booked a portrait session. A crazy day! Suzy, Nicola and I all went to the park together with 4 dogs in total! Great fun but many moments of pure chaos 😀

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraiture

One of Nicola’s dogs, Bailey, was very well behaved. He pretty much sat still when we required him to and looked where we wanted to when we called him. So adorable. I was able to get the detail shots that I love so much; his sweet little nose, the shaggy fur round his eyes. Oh Bailey, just a fluffy bundle of cuteness!

2013-01-03_0008

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraiture

Her other dog??? Well, that was a bit more of a challenge! Nicola is convinced the poor thing is autistic 🙂 Keeno doesn’t seem to care what’s going on around him, never really reacts to his name and when a camera is pointing at him he’s pretty much determined to look the other way! Yes, Keeno may sit still but only until you are in his eye sight with a camera and then he moves the other way! A challenge, but one that I had lots of fun working on.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet Portraiture

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Pet PortraitureThanks, Keeno, for keeping me on my toes!

Thank you to Nicola for truly embracing my style of photography. Hopefully I captured a mixture of traditional portraits and something a bit more artistic for the wall. They were a big hit with her family so that’s great feedback for me, especially as tears of happiness were produced (I am told!)

The photographs from the entire shoot are online for a limited time, so make sure you check them out here.

If you fancy booking a Pet Portrait session, then get in touch. 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2013 10:55 am

    Adorable dog and superb photos! I just love them 🙂 Great portraits and close up shots!
    / Sofia

Leave a Reply

