Skip to content

Before you put the Christmas presents away…..

January 7, 2013

You may or may not already know that my Dad is a photographer. My sister and I have been fortunate to have thousands of professional standard photographs taken throughout our childhood and it makes looking through these albums an endless joy.

From all the photographs, the ones that stir the most memories are the family tradition of Christmas Present photographs.

Each year, before we finally put the decorations and presents away, my parents would setup a photograph to include my sister and I (sometimes together, sometimes not) surrounded by all the gifts we received. Not only is it great to see how the present quantity and type changed as we grew but to actually see the details of these presents; the toys we played with and the items we remember. I love it that sometimes I just remember having a toy but don’t remember what age I received it; its interesting to see which toys stood the test of time in my attention span. Also, my mum has kept a fair number of our toys which my sister’s three children can now play with. It’s such fun to show them the photographs of the toys they are playing with in the same image as their mother as a child.

Nikki Waterlow: Family Tradtion

I cherish these photographs.

Nikki Waterlow: Family Tradtion

My sister has now begun this tradition with her eldest two

Nikki Waterlow: Family Tradtion

I have also started clients off on their annual Christmas photograph during recent Christmas/New Year sessions. It’s never too late to start doing this yourselves. I still can’t get out of this habit. I still display my presents for a photograph, even now. Just without me sitting within them 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rob McDonald permalink
    January 8, 2013 3:42 pm

    It’s odd but you never think at the time, how valuable these photographs will become with the passing of the years. You also, never imagine your children as adults & even though you continue to love them as adults there is a little part of you, that misses the child. Good photographs cost very little but Memories are priceless !

  2. Jenna permalink
    January 10, 2013 10:23 pm

    These photos are definitely something to cherish such a good idea!

Leave a Reply

