Skip to content

Angela & Robert’s Little Girl: Sneak Peek

August 5, 2013

Poor Angela has had to wait a long time for her portrait session due to my morning sickness taking over 4-5 months of my life at the beginning of the year! I hope that it was finally worth the wait for her 🙂

I met up with Angela and her little girl in a nearby Park, where they enjoyed sunshine, bubbles and cuddles.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

You know the saying ‘never work with children or animals‘ well this was one of those portrait sessions* 🙂 Angela’s little girl is gorgeously beautiful and has a strong personality to match. I often hear people say ‘my little one would never sit still for a portrait session’ or ‘ my child would never cooperate’. It’s very rare that any toddler will and that’s my task, as a photographer, to work alongside that and get the most from a session. And to do so without pushing a child into feeling anxious or upset. I still make sure that fun is had, even if it means lowering the camera for a while. At the time it may feel like the session isn’t going the way it should (I’ve even had kids point this out to me!) but you’ll hopefully be pleased with the results we still achieve 🙂

Adorable when she smiles….

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

Still beautiful when she doesn’t….

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

Little girls, more than boys, know exactly what the ‘game‘ is all about. They know why that camera is pointing at them and no amount of distraction or bribery tactics will make them forget that. Little boys; a lot easier to distract! 😉

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

Angela had a few photo ideas in mind but generally wanted me to capture an image suitable for a large wall print. With this in mind, I made use of the scenery but also couldn’t resist some classic close-ups; my favourite!

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

Angela’s twin sister and family were also present at this session, so I couldn’t resist capturing a few images of their little boy too…

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Children's Portrait Photographer

Keep an eye out on Facebook for announcements regarding their online gallery,

*Now in my third trimester, photographing toddlers has become a lot more of a challenge. I can’t move as quickly as I could; to run after them or to get up and down off the floor (so that I’m at their height) before they are on the move again. I could not have done this shoot half as well, had it not been for my assistant, Wayne. He was my donkey (carrying my heavy bags), my legs (whenever I needed to grab a change of kit or my bottle of water) and my crane (when I needed help getting to my feet again!). Thanks Wayne. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise Egan permalink
    August 6, 2013 7:36 pm

    These are beautiful photos. They capture Amber so well, brilliant photos. Louise

Leave a Reply

