Skip to content

Jenny & Andy’s New Arrival: Sneak Peek

September 2, 2013

I can honestly say that Jenny and Andy have become good friends of mine since I photographed their wedding back in 2010.

Jenny and I have shared our pregnancy journeys and so I was delighted that they invited me into their home to photograph their beautiful new Bubba.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

Ideally a newborn would peacefully sleep through the whole of their session (with a few stops for feeds) and I’d be in and out of there in approx 2-3 hours. Jenny & Andy’s little daughter had other plans! This little smirk is surely due to plan hatching…

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

Being just on the edge of the newborn portrait cutoff (14 days) she was a lot more alert and insisted on having one, if not two, eyes open for most of the session! This slowed down the whole session to a record-breaking 6 hours (I admit that a lot of this was Jenny and I having a good old natter while we waited for the little model to nod off to sleep again). I should also point out then I’m a lot slower at ‘floor work’ now that I’m the size of a hippo! Many thanks to Andy for running round for me, being my legs, while I stayed in my shooting position.

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

Shots that most people are expecting to see are the squidgy, curled up shots but until baby is soundly in the land of nod, posing is very limited!

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

However, we patiently waited, chatted, had lunch and every now and then were rewarded with a cooperating baby model.

Awww, how cute is she?

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

I am so excited for my little one to arrive and enjoy numerous playdates with Jenny & Andy’s beauty.

Thanks guys for your patience and hospitality through this long portrait session. I hope you will love the images as much as I do 🙂 She is beautiful. Congratulations; a job well done by you both 😀

Nikki Waterlow Photography: Newborn Photographer

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny Johnson permalink
    September 2, 2013 6:22 pm

    Thank you so much Nikki – really lovely photos that capture our girl’s personality already! Cannot wait to see the rest of the gallery when they are ready! Your hard work and patience really paid off and we really appreciated it – was lovely to spend the day with you also. Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy but I am sure I will see you again soon for more tea and cake instead of swimming! I cannot wait to meet your little one too xx Jenny

    • September 2, 2013 6:40 pm

      Bless you. So glad that you like the images. She was a joy to photograph, so perfect. Cake and cuddles will tempt me anywhere 🙂 Can’t wait to visit again soon. xx

  2. Nyssa Forde permalink
    September 2, 2013 6:59 pm

    Gorgeous photos for a gorgeous little girl xx

  3. Liz Johnson permalink
    September 2, 2013 7:02 pm

    Lovely photos the boys were delighted to see the rabbit featured in one!! Liz xx

    • September 2, 2013 7:06 pm

      Thanks for looking Liz.
      I fell in love with that rabbit. It had that well-loved look about it, I just had to use it. 🙂

  4. Cassy Stanton permalink
    September 3, 2013 10:01 pm

    Thank you for creating such wonderful pictures of our darling Amy. Can’t wait to see the rest! Proud Nanny Cassy xxx

  5. Gill Johnson permalink
    September 4, 2013 5:47 pm

    Fabulous photos Nikki – can’t wait to get some copies
    Gran no. 2 xx

Leave a Reply

